British Haiku Awards 2014

Entries for the 2014 British Haiku Awards need to be received by 31 January, 2015. Non-British entries can be sent by email to David Steele at, along with payment by PayPal. Submissions must be in English, unpublished and not concurrently entered in any other competition. There is no limit on the number of submissions per competitor.

Entry procedures for the 2014 British Haiku Awards:

International poets can email haiku, tanka and haibun to the British Haiku Awards, with entries to be accompanied by the name, postal address and email address of the entrant, plus PayPal payment.

Haibun should be given a title and must include at least one haiku. Containing a minimum of 100 words of prose, haibun must not exceed 2,500 words in length.

No entries will be returned, so entrants should keep their own copies.

Entry fees: Up to 3 haiku = £5 (or US$ 8) and £1 (US$ 1) per haiku thereafter.
The fee for tanka works the same as for haiku, but haiku and tanka are separate categories (i.e. no mixing for one fee).
The fee for haibun is £5 (US$ 8) per entry.

To be emailed - along with international entries - to David Steele at, PayPal payments should be made in £ sterling (not $ etc.), while also including an extra 10% to cover the PayPal transfer fee.

Judges’ choices will be final and no correspondence can be entered into about the results.
It is possible for an entrant to win more than one prize.
For haiku, prizes of £125 will be awarded to each of the two best, with £50 to each of two runners-up. Tanka: first prize – £125; runner-up – £50.
Haibun: winner – £100.

Results will be published on the BHS website at
All haiku and tanka selected for awards will be published in the May 2015 issue of the BHS journal, Blithe Spirit, along with the judges’ reports.
Selected haibun may also appear in that issue, space permitting.
(All entries must have remained unpublished elsewhere until after BHS competition results have been declared.)

Copyright reverts to authors after publication in Blithe Spirit, but entering any category signifies agreement that entrants’ work can be published digitally by the BHS or copied for archival purposes (for example, by the British Library or the Poetry Library, London).

The judges for the 2014 British Haiku Awards will be:
Tanka – Katherine Gallagher;
Haibun – John Parsons;
Haiku – Kim Richardson and Leo Lavery.

For further details about this competition, plus examples of previous winning Haiku and Haibun, please visit:

Enquiries regarding the British Haiku Awards 2014 (including about PayPal payments) should be directed to the British Haiku Society.