ukiaHaiku festival and competition

The ukiaHaiku festival and competition welcomes submissions of haiku to the Jane
Reichhold International Prize category (formerly known as the Contemporary Haiku
category) from poets across the planet.* Poems submitted in this category may be written
in either the contemporary or the traditional 5-7-5 format.

Jane Reichhold is a haiku poet of international renown who has generously contributed her
time and expertise to the development of the ukiaHaiku festival. She is the author of
over thirty books, including "Writing and Enjoying Haiku: A Hands-on Guide." She is a
two-time winner of the Museum of Haiku Literature Award (Tokyo), and three-time winner of
a Haiku Society of America Merit Book Award. In 1998, in recognition of her contributions
to haiku poetry, the Emperor and Empress of Japan invited her to attend the Imperial New
Year's Poetry Party at the Palace in Tokyo. But more than anything else, Jane is a
delight to be with. Her love of Haiku as an art form is a reflection of her love of the
world. You can learn more about Jane and her wide-ranging interest in haiku and other
forms of short poetry at her website and in the attached essay.

Website Address:
Fee: $5 for up to three haiku.
Limit: Maximum 3 haiku per person.
Eligibility: age 19 and over.

Submission Guidelines:
If emailing: Follow instructions on website, or:

1) Send a separate email for each haiku to Send no more than three
haiku. In body of email include: a) author's name; b) email address; c) the category
(Contemporary); d) the poem; e) alternate/additional contact information;

2) Send the fee by snail mail to ukiaHaiku festival, POB 865, Ukiah, CA 95482.

If snail mailing: Go to and download the form. Follow instructions on
the form.

Deadline: February 26, 2010 (postmark or email date).

Judging: Internationally famous haiku poet Jane Reichhold will judge the Contemporary
Haiku category.

Awards: $100 first place, $50 second place, $25 third place, plus a small booklet of
winning poems and publication in that booklet.

Festival and Awards Ceremony: Sunday April 18, 2010, 2 p.m. Winners are strongly
encouraged to attend the festival to read their poems.

*The other categories, including a new Spanish-language category, are reserved for
contestants from Mendocino, Sonoma, Lake, and Humboldt counties in northern California,