2006 James W Hackett International Haiku Award

Entry procedure for the 2006 James W Hackett International Haiku Award

Haiku must be original, in English, not previously published nor under consideration for publication or entered in any other competition.

Deadline: in hand by 30 November 2006.

Award: Two winning haiku will be chosen, each by a separate adjudicator (see below).
The winning authors will each receive a prize of £70 and …
One year’s free subscription to The British Haiku Society.
Winning and commended haiku will be published in Volume 17 no. 2 of Blithe Spirit
and here on the BHS website

Apart from publication connected with competition results, copyright is retained by the authors.

Each haiku must be printed or typed onto three separate 5 x 3 in (125 x 75 mm) sheets or cards. Entrant's name and address to be on the back of only one sheet/card in each set of three.

Submissions to be sent by post to Hackett Award, Newton House, Holt Rd, North Elmham, Norfolk NR20 5JQ, UK.

An entry must be accompanied by the flat rate entry fee of £3.00 or US$6.00 for up to three haiku, and £1.00 or US$2.00 per haiku thereafter.
Cheques and Orders should be made payable to 'British Haiku Society'
Due to high currency and clearance charges, payment can only be accepted in Sterling by cheque drawn on a UK bank branch, by British Postal Order, in Sterling / US cash, or by International Money Order.
All BHS Committee Members are debarred from entry.
For notification of results, please enclose a self-addressed envelope with appropriate UK stamp, or two IRCs, (which must be stamped by the issuing office) or US$1.00 (so, US$7 in bills covers both entry fee and notification).

Adjudication: A shortlist will be prepared by a BHS sub-Committee from anonymous copies of the submissions.
James W Hackett and David Cobb will then each choose a winning poem and up to three commended poems.

James W Hackett needs no introduction to serious readers of haiku, but see his website: which contains all of his haiku, zen poems, and other spiritually-focused writings. Included also are correspondence with Blyth and Henderson, paintings, calligraphy and photos.
David Cobb is a former President of the BHS and works to establish connections with haiku poets world wide. He gave the opening address at the Inaugural European Haiku Festival in Germany in 2005. The original BHS, James W Hackett Award grew out of correspondence between David Cobb and James Hackett in 1991.

BHS and James W Hackett regret they cannot enter into correspondence about the Hackett Award decisions and that entries cannot be returned.