November 15, 2015

Review of “Prospect Five” – Dorothy McLaughlin

“Prospect” is an annual poetry journal, with longer poems written by Australians and published in Australia. “Prospect Five” is devoted to haiku and tanka, with Beverley George as guest editor. Beverley was president of Haiku Oz, the Australian Haiku Society. She edits and publishes "Eucalypt," a tanka publication, conducts workshops, and writes essays and children's books. Her tanka and haiku have earned awards, and some have been translated into Japanese. The cover image and design are by Ron C. Moss, and Rebus Press had charge of layout.

The journal as a whole is unmistakably and delightfully Australian. While some of the vocabulary is special to that country, the themes and emotions are universal. With a few exceptions, I was able to understand and appreciate the poems without resorting to a dictionary, though I did look up some words for their precise meaning and enjoyed this verbal visit to a country and continent so far away.

Continue reading "Review of “Prospect Five” – Dorothy McLaughlin " »

Report on HNA 2015 – Marietta McGregor

The Haiku North America (HNA) 2015 Conference was held from 14-18 October at Union College, a liberal arts college founded in 1795 with a classically-inspired campus near the foothills of the Adirondacks in upper New York State. Appropriately for the setting, this year's conference, Autumn Term was themed around the teaching and learning of haiku. After a welcome by HNA's principal organisers Michael Dylan Welch, John Stevenson and Hilary Tann (other hard-working committee members were Yu Chang and Tom Clausen), 130 poet delegates each recited one of their own haiku/senryu.

The two Australians, Jennifer Sutherland and Marietta McGregor, along with poets who travelled from Japan and India, received a special welcome, a round of applause in appreciation of their long journeys. Jim Kacian launched proceedings with Realism is Dead, posing the question that, if haiku was no longer rooted in the real world, what might then ground it? The keynote address by Dr Randy Brooks examined some of the issues with teaching haiku in the American education system.

Continue reading "Report on HNA 2015 – Marietta McGregor" »

November 08, 2015

Cynthia Rowe: winner – Grand Prize: 1st Place in 2015 World Haiku Contest

Australian haiku poet Cynthia Rowe has won the Grand Prize: 1st Place in the 2015 World Haiku Contest, with the following haiku:

bare branch
the wild persimmon

Another entry by Cynthia was one of five haiku to gain an Honorable Mention in the same competition:

old railway track
a tumbleweed skips
through wild grass

Comments about Cynthia’s winning poem – provided by the judge for this contest, Alan Summers – can be read below:

Continue reading "Cynthia Rowe: winner – Grand Prize: 1st Place in 2015 World Haiku Contest" »

October 29, 2015

Kokako submissions open November 1, 2015 – deadline February 1, 2016

Kokako is New Zealand’s only journal dedicated to haiku and other related forms – it is published twice a year.

Submissions will open for its April edition 2016 on November 1, 2015: deadline – February 1, 2016.

Contributors are welcome to offer haiku, senryu, tanka, renga, haibun and reviews – preferably by email – with only one submission per contributor per issue, comprising no more than 8 poems/ pieces.

Submissions should be inserted into the body of an email (not added as an attachment) and sent to editors Patricia Prime and Margaret Beverland at:

Continue reading "Kokako submissions open November 1, 2015 – deadline February 1, 2016" »

Results – 4th Japan-Russia Haiku Contest 2015

The Akita International Haiku Network has announced the results of its 4th Japan – Russia Haiku Contest, where poets were invited to write haiku on the theme of lakes.

From a range of international contributors, Australian haiku poets Marietta McGregor and Simon Hanson were first- and second-listed among a set of 10 entrants to receive Honourable Mentions:

a family of teals
breaches the lake ice
receding winter

- Marietta McGregor

heading home
crossing the lake
the shadows of pines

- Simon Hanson

Continue reading "Results – 4th Japan-Russia Haiku Contest 2015" »


Become a member of HaikuOz.
Receive complimentary updated news.
Sign in with your email address here.



Creative Commons License
This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Locations of visitors to this page

Powered by
Movable Type 3.2
HaikuOz Webmaster : R.Smith